Automatic upgrade to Windows 10

Posted on

Have you been caught out recently with Windows automatically upgrading you to Windows 10 even though you’ve not consented to the upgrade?

Well, with just two month remaining to upgrade to Windows 10 for free, Microsoft are turning up the heat with what appears to be a rather sneaky push to get people to upgrade.

The latest tactic is to turn the X in the top right hand corner of the upgrade prompt box (the one that usually dismisses a dialogue box) into a ‘Sure, I agree to this upgrade’ action.

Microsoft have confirmed this on its support pages stating: “If you click on OK or on the red “X”, you’re all set for the upgrade and there is nothing further to do,”


Update: 25 May 2016

According to the BBC:

Microsoft told the BBC it had modified the pop-up two weeks ago as a result of criticism: “We’ve added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade and provides the customer an additional opportunity for cancelling or rescheduling the upgrade.

“If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click ‘OK’ or close the notifications with no further action needed.”

Copyright © 2018 Convergence. All rights reserved.